New Series On The Horizon For Fans Of History’s ”Vikings’: “The Truth Behind Lagertha”

Always be Yourself Lagertha

[Image via History/Rachel Tsoumbakos]

Have you been enjoying my recaps on History’s Vikings but have always wondered just how much of the show is based on historical fact?

Well, so have I.

As a result of this, I will be publishing a series of books tentatively called The Truth Behind that delve into the history of the Vikings as well as other key historical figures of the time  since my daughter insists I include King Ecbert and Queen Kwenthrith in this series.

The very first novel will be based on the historical literature and myths surrounding Lagertha. In modern culture, Lagertha is synonymous with being a headstrong female who can hold her own in battle. In Season 1 of History’s Vikings, Lagertha is already married to Ragnar Lothbrok. So how did they meet? Historically speaking, Ragnar Lodbrok first met her in brothel. The Truth Behind: Lagertha will delve into how this event occurred and how Lagertha and Ragnar ended up together.

If you think The Truth Behind: Lagertha will be just another history, you can think again. Each of The Truth Behind books will consist of two parts. The first part being the history behind each character. The second half, however, will be a novella of the historical figure’s life. So, if you are not so much about reading about history and prefer to get your history dose in much the same way History delivers Vikings, than Part Two will be just for you!

Currently The Truth Behind: Lagertha is at the planning stage and I have an awful lot of historical documents to get through before writing begins in earnest on this series. However, I just thought I would drop you a line to let you know what to expect, novel-wise, for me in the future.

The Truth Behind: Lagertha by Rachel Tsoumbakos

[Image by Morris Meredith Williams (1881-1973) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons]

So far only a working cover and blurb is available on Goodreads, but please head on over there and show your support for my latest series by adding The Truth Behind: Lagertha to your reading list.

BLURB:

Lagertha was known to be one of the wives of the famous Viking, Ragnar Lodbrok. But did you know they first met each other at a brothel? And just how long did their marriage last? Was Lagertha really the revered shield maiden we see her as today? The Truth behind: Lagertha aims to unravel all these secrets.

The Truth Behind: Lagertha is so much more than a history book though. While Part One examines the historical facts, Part Two brings her whole story to life with an historically accurate novella of her life.

The Truth Behind series explores the historical fact from present day fiction in regards to the Vikings and other key historical figures that existed in the Viking era.

The Truth Behind: Lagertha aims to discover just how much of what we know of the shield maiden, Lagertha, in popular culture today is actually true.

Advertisements

About mrszoomby

When I'm not writing, I'm training for the zombie apocalypse.
This entry was posted in Books, New Novel, New Release and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Series On The Horizon For Fans Of History’s ”Vikings’: “The Truth Behind Lagertha”

  1. Pingback: Want To Know The Real Story Behind The Lagertha? Here’s The Series For You! | Vikings News & Recaps

  2. Woo! Can’t wait to see this!

  3. Pingback: News | Multi-screen MO-T-Vision

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s