BOOK REVIEW: Broken Lies by Claire Vale

Broken Lies by Claire Vale

Broken Lies by Claire Vale
(Broken #1)
Publication date: March 10th 2015
Genres: Dystopia, Young Adult

BLURB

Scientists predicted it would take seventy years for the Arctic Shelf to completely melt. In the end, it took less than five. We lost thirty percent of our land to the oceans and a big chunk of our structure to panic and anarchy.

The Melt crippled us.

But it was the Arctic Virus at the bottom of The Melt, trapped for millennia in the darkest depths of ice strata, that broke us. The real flood was the Living Corpses. A population of billions turned to soulless, rabid shells within months. That’s what washed away the human race as we know it.

Born into a post-apocalyptic world, Lake has grown up in the last city standing. Governed by what used to be the Queen’s Cold Stream Guard, vaccinated against the threat, life in Windsor City is both harsh and fair. The rules are designed to strengthen the city and ensure survival.

Lake’s future is planned out with opportunities and unfair advantages and then there’s Ash—her best friend and hopefully more. Things could be worse, considering she’s living past the end of days. And, sometimes, she could definitely do with being a better person, which was what drafting into the Guard for two years of service was supposed to be about.

But she has no idea what she’s signed up for. The city is more vulnerable than she’d ever imagined, on its knees at the mercy of a megalomaniac organisation, and she’s just been chosen to pay the price.

ADD TO GOODREADS

PURCHASE

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE

*MY BOOK REVIEW*

DISCLAIMER: The books/eBooks being reviewed were provided free of charge in return for an honest review.

Okay, I finished reading this book a while back but just haven’t gotten around to reviewing it because I was hoping time would help me pick a rating for it. Unfortunately it hasn’t really.

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t hate this book – not by a long shot at all. However, the end threw me more than I could ever imagine. And, I can’t even really talk about it because I don’t want to give away spoilers. But, let’s just say, the ending was not what I expected and I’m not really sure I liked where it took the story.

However, even with not liking the end, I will be chasing down the next book in this series when it comes out.

At first, when I was reading the start of this book, I was ready to give it 5 stars. I loved the way the main character is not your typical in your face aggressive forthright and spunky girl who is taking on the dystopian universe. The main character in Broken Lies is more unsure of herself, ready to admit she doesn’t know it all and worries constantly about whether or not she is making the right choices in life. In fact, I really enjoyed all the characters in this novel. The author writes them well and fills out their stories with great effect. All the way through this novel I found I was engrossed in the world and completely believed everything on the page.

Then the end happened.

At first I wanted to give it 2 or 3 stars. While I really didn’t like the way the author was going (and had thought she was taking the story in a completely different way), I was still in love with the characters and was invested desperately in their story – regardless of how much I rolled my eyes at the cliche.

But, after putting the book down when the story was finally finished, I realised 2 or 3 stars would be an injustice. While the ending was not to my liking, the characters were. The prose in this novel is wonderful and I was constantly emerged in the story. So, instead, I settled on 4 stars because I really think readers should give this book a go. Not for the ending, but to fall in love with the amazing people telling the story.

Overall, I am giving Broken Lies by Claire Vale 4 out of 5 stars!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Claire Vale lives in a small town outside London. When she’s not thigh-deep in real life, you’ll find her head-and-heart-deep in the tangled lives of her characters.

About mrszoomby

When I'm not writing, I'm training for the zombie apocalypse.
This entry was posted in Blog Tour, Book Review, Books, Dystopia, New Novel, New Release, Post-Apocalyptic and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

