KICKSTARTER PROJECT: The Angel at the Devil’s Gate by Mocha

I had an interesting email from an author who goes by the name of Mocha recently. She has written a book but needs the funding to get it published, so she has decided to turn to Kickstarter to aid her cause. All the book details are below and you can donate to her campaign here. You can also check out my Q&A with Mocha below.

THE ANGEL AT THE DEVIL’S GATE by MOCHA

The Angel at the Devil's Gate by Mocha

BLURB

Troubled teen Eli Nunn is moved back to Kansas City following the aftermath of a violent drug deal. Returning to a school where his ruthless reputation still thrives, Eli encounters and instantly connects with Angel, a beautiful and mysterious black-clad orphan. Their flourishing romance begins to grow darker when Eli learns details of Angel’s chilling past. Conflicted with alarm and intrigue, Eli accepts a proposal from Angel that puts both their relationship and lives in danger.

INSPIRATION

I began The Angel at the Devil’s Gate four years ago after watching an all-day marathon of true crime investigations on the ID channel. Each horrifying story of calculated murder gave me more inspiration for a novel. Halfway through the marathon, I knew I wanted the story to be centered around Angel, a character from an attempted novel that I long ago discarded. Angel’s character always lingered at the back of my mind years after the novel was abandoned. The character was unlike any other character I’ve read about or seen in films, and I knew Angel would find a home in the story that was churning in my mind.

Even when I was a child, I always found the villain or the anti-protagonist to be more interesting than the hero. I loved Drew Barrymore’s portrayal of Ivy in Poison Ivy, Rita of the Power Rangers franchise and Jack Nicholson as The Joker. I was more interested to know their side of the story, to know what made the darkness so alluring to them. So with my established interest with the villain and a story inspired by true crime investigations, I began to write The Angel at the Devil’s Gate.

As soon as I began working on the novel it was my intention to evoke a slew of emotions from the reader. I wanted Eli and Angel to be looked at with both condemning and sympathetic eyes. I wanted the reader to be frightened by them yet finding themselves oddly drawn to them just the same. At the novel’s completion, I couldn’t be happier with the outcome. I had a story with the dark, menacing atmosphere of an 18th century gothic horror novel with the plot devices of a commercial thriller.

The Angel at the Devil's Gate

Q&A WITH MOCHA

  1. Name: Mocha
  2. Project Title: The Angel at the Devil’s Gate
  3. Please tell me a little about why you decided on a Kickstarter campaign for you project: I thought about self-publishing for a while now. I thought it would be an easy and inexpensive way to get my novel in the hands of readers. However, after research, I found that not to be the case at all. A lot goes into having a successful self-published book. Even having an artist design a front cover doesn’t come cheap, not to mention the cost to promote. For a while I was discouraged. I didn’t have the funds to successfully publish my book, and I knew my novel deserved more than a poorly designed front cover and thrown onto Amazon as an E-book, where it would probably fade into the background against millions of books on the market.

    When I heard that one of my favorite R&B groups, TLC, was turning to Kickstarter to help fund their final album, I looked into what Kickstarter was. I found that not only musicians and inventors used Kickstarter but writers did as well. It was then that I believed my novel might be able to receive the funding needed to be published. I also thought rewarding the people who backed the project was a brilliant idea. Following a few more days of research, I decided that I wanted to launch a Kickstarter.

  4. What are your favourite book/movie genres? I mostly find myself drawn to horror and thrillers. I love both books and movies that have a dark atmosphere, excellent dialogue, and well-written characters. American Mary was a fantastic horror movie that I still think about, and I recently finished reading Fevre Dream by George R.R. Martin. It was a wonderful gothic horror novel that I found to be romantic without any real elements of romance.
  5. What inspires you to write? Knowing that something I created aroused emotions in someone inspires     me to write. When I began looking for beta readers for The Angel at the Devil’s Gate, I wanted to find people who I did not know, because I knew they would be more honest than a friend of mine. The reception I got from them was overwhelming. They told me how they laughed, cried, how they yelled at the pages, how they were afraid to turn the page. Conjuring up all those emotions in someone is very gratifying, and it’s something that I want to do with each one of my books.
  6. Do you have any other books published? Tell me about them. The Angel at the Devil’s Gate will be my first published novel.
  7. Can you tell me a little baout what you have planned beyond this current project? I’m currently in the editing process of my second book, The Possession of Susan Rite, a horror novel about demonic possession, which will be available to those who back my project upon its competition. I actually finished the first draft before writing The Angel at the Devil’s Gate. It was missing detailed research, so before returning to it, I began researching demonic possessions. I read a lot of fiction and non-fiction relating to the subject, and I must say, The Demonologist: The Extraordinary Career of Ed and Lorraine Warren by Gerald Brittle is one of the scariest books I’ve ever read.

    I’m also researching for my third novel. I have a notebook full of notes from the various books I’ve read and ideas that have popped into my head. I have the story outlined in my mind, now I’m just filling in the details with research.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Author MochaI was born and raised in Kansas City, Missouri, and like most writers, I had a passion for writing as a child; however, I was terribly shy (I still am to a certain extent) and refused to enter any writing competitions or show my writing to anyone but my mother and brother. Nonetheless, I knew I wanted to be an author and it’s a dream I strive to achieve. I attended the University of Central Missouri for journalism with a minor in creative writing. I’m currently in the tedious yet delightful (sometimes) editing process of my second novel, The Possession of Susan Rite, and doing research for my third novel.

AUTHOR LINKS

KICKSTARTER | WEBSITE | GOOGLE+ | TWITTER

The Angel at the Devil's Gate

About mrszoomby

When I'm not writing, I'm training for the zombie apocalypse.
This entry was posted in Interview, New Novel, New Release and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

