BOOK REVIEW: Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper by J.L. Bryan

Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper by J.L. Bryan

ELLIE JORDAN, GHOST TRAPPER by J.L. BRYAN

Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper by J.L. Bryan
Published by: J.L. Bryan
Genres: Adult, Horror, paranormal, ghosts

BLURB

Ellie Jordan’s job is to catch and remove unwanted ghosts. Part detective, part paranormal exterminator, Ellie operates out of Savannah, Georgia, one of the oldest and most haunted cities in North America.

When a family contacts her to deal with a disturbing presence in the old mansion they’ve recently purchased, Ellie first believes it to be a typical, by-the-book specter, a residual haunting by a restless spirit. Instead, she finds herself confronting an evil older and more powerful than she’d ever expected, rooted in the house’s long and sordid history of luxury, sin, and murder. The dangerous entity seems particularly interested in her clients’ ten-year-old daughter.

Soon her own life is in danger, and Ellie must find a way to exorcise the darkness of the house before it can kill her, her clients, or their frightened young child.

ADD TO GOODREADS

*MY BOOK REVIEW*

DISCLAIMER: The books/eBooks being reviewed were provided free of charge in return for an honest review.

So I have been changing my genres up a bit of late since I have concentrated on pretty much nothing but dystopia and zombies for close to two years now. Ghost stories are a genre I love but haven’t had the opportunity to read much, so when Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper came onto my radar I pounced on it.

Boy was this one a goodie too!

Set in the deep south of America, the scene quickly engaged me and I managed to devour this book in just a matter of sittings. The main character, Ellie Jordan, is just how I like my female leads, sassy, direct and socially awkward. Oh, and she owns a cat. Ellie is in paid employment as a ghost hunter/trapper and her interaction with her newly acquired partner that’s she’s not overly fond of and her long standing boss is relaxed and completely believable. I did find the secondary characters a little cardboard and lacking in depth somewhat, although it really didn’t hinder the story, it just made me a little distracted when they were centre stage in the book. And there was a particular love/hate relationship going on between me and Dale that I am still unsure about whether he works as a character or not.

I found genuine moments of the scary chill factor whilst reading this book and there was just enough information of the ghost hunting profession to make the story really gel together. The pace is engaging and I found myself reading as fast as I could to get through this novel and to find out what would happen. The writing style is also unique from what I have recently read, with it feeling like you are engaged in conversation with the main character rather than just reading about her story.

Overall, I am giving Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper by J.L. Bryan 4 out of 5 stars. I have also just discovered that there are already FOUR books in this series, so will be eager to jump right back into Ellie’s life!

PURCHASE

AMAZON: BOOK 1 | BOOK 2 | BOOK 3 | BOOK 4

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Author J.L. BryanJ.L. Bryan studied English literature at the University of Georgia and at Oxford, with a focus on English Renaissance and Romantic literature. He also studied screenwriting at UCLA. He lives in the metro Atlanta sprawl with his wife Christina, where he spends most of his day serving the toddler and animal community inside his house. He is the author of the Paranormals series and the Songs of Magic series.

AUTHOR LINKS

WEBSITE | TWITTER | GOODREADS

About mrszoomby

When I'm not writing, I'm training for the zombie apocalypse.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Horror, New Novel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

