The Walking Dead Season 5 Recap – Episode 3: Four Walls and a Roof

AMCs The Walking Dead Season 5 Episode 3 entitled Four Walls and a Roof 7

Four Walls and a Roof

Okay, AMC, I am NOT a big fan of cliffhanger episodes when I’m not expecting them, okay? When they occur mid season, randomly, I just haven’t had the time to get emotionally ready for an episode like this one. So, here’s what went down in Episode 3 (entitled Four Walls and a Roof) Season 5 of AMC’s The Walking Dead:

Welcome to the episode where Gareth (Andrew J. West) monologues. A lot. But that’s okay because right in the middle of his very first monologue to Bob Stookey (Lawrence Gilliard Jr.), Bob gets so over his shit that he bursts into a fit of laughter – yeah baby, welcome to the BoBQ of tainted meat! *high five Bob* I had guessed this was how it was going to play out after Bob’s cheerful episode last week, but boy oh boy, it was SO worth the wait!

Needless to say Gareth gets pissy and then shitty before dumping Bob back at the church and painting a big scarlet A as a reminder of how scary cannibals really are. Looks like it’s time for a game of cat and mouse guys! So Bob is able to let Rick’s (Andrew Lincoln) crew know that Carol (Melissa McBride) and Daryl (Norman Reedus) aren’t with Gareth’s group AND that he conveniently overheard the fact the pair drove off. Good to see everyone is on the same page so early on in the season. Ditto the fact Bob can describe the elementary school with enough detail for Father Gabriel (Seth Gilliam) to identify it.

Sasha (Sonequa Martin-Green) is obviously gutted her shiny new boyfriend is about to turn into her own worst nightmare, so her and her bro, Tyreese (Chad Coleman) have quite a few ‘it’s not fair’ conversations.

It’s right about now that Abraham (Michael Cudlitz) announces he is getting his precious cargo (ie. Eugene (Josh McDermitt) the gaming scientist wonderboy) out of Kansas. There is arguing after this. But to make a long story short, Glenn (Steven Yeun), Maggie (Lauren Cohan) and Tara (Alanna Masterson) agree to go to DC with Abraham’s group while Rick’s group stay behind and look for Carol and Daryl.

Oh, and remember Rosita (Christian Serratos)? She’s the one in cut offs who stands around looking all boars and whores with a gun? Yeah, she totally gets a line tonight. YAY! *fist pumps the air*

Once this is sorted, Rick and some of his gang decide to head on over to the school and shake some shit up. Sasha tasks Tyreese with stabbing Bob in the head if he turns while he’s gone and once more Tyreese is left holding the baby and having to look after people.

So Rick’s small posse leave the rest holed up in the back room of the church and head on out into the wilds. This is when Gareth’s group bleeds out of the dark woods and head on into the church. Fuck! I start praying to the Kirkman gods now, hoping Rick is smarter than that.

AMCs The Walking Dead Season 5 Episode 3 entitled Four Walls and a Roof 3 meme

Gareth’s group enter the dark church and we are greeted with his infernal monloguing again. Getting real tired of your shit already Gareth! But that’s okay because so is Judith (Charlotte & Clara Ward) and she alerts him to which door the prize is behind. But Gareth is the kind of guy that likes to play with his food first, so I am chewing my nails down to the bare bones hoping Rick is bluffing about returning to the school.

And he is.

Praise the gods!

Rick blows a couple of Gareth’s guys through to tomorrow and then approaches Gareth WHO STARTS TO FUCKING MONLOGUE ALL OVER AGAIN.

Remember that red handled machete Rick threatened Gareth with in Episode 1 (entitled No Sanctuary)? Yeah, he totally hacked up Gareth with it – GO RICK!

AMCs The Walking Dead Season 5 Episode 3 entitled Four Walls and a Roof 4

What ensues is horrific.

There is an awful lot of bludgeoning. Probably too much, in fact. Even Rick’s crew are starting to look worried. but at least Gareth’s group can’t eat anyone else I guess … Oh, and Michonne (Danai Gurira) gets her katana back too!

And now it is time for Bob to die. Seriously, I cried waaaaay more than I thought I would. Especially when Tyreese had to do what he had to do. RIP Bob Stookey 😦

AMCs The Walking Dead Season 5 Episode 3 entitled Four Walls and a Roof 6

Abraham and his slightly expanded group head off to DC in the church bus. He leaves behind a map so the remainder of Rick’s group can follow once they find Carol and Daryl.

Which means, now that the group has split up again, Daryl walks out of the woods with…????

AMCs The Walking Dead Season 5 Episode 3 entitled Four Walls and a Roof 9a

END OF EPISODE.

*throws things at the wall*

My guess is Daryl walks out of the woods with Beth (Emily Kinney), since Maggie has now left the group again. not that Maggie really seems to care so much about her sister, but the audience has a vested interest in seeing these two reunite again.

I also think something awful has happened to Carol. That look on Daryl’s face … it still makes me sick to the stomach thinking about it.

So, what did you think of the cliffhanger at the end of Episode 3 of AMC’s The Walking Dead? Let me know your thoughts by commenting below!

On a side note, Father G also fesses up to his big bad – seems that conspiracy theory about him locking everyone out of the church was correct. Speaking about all the Season 5 theories, I have updated the page a lot over the last couple of days, so why not head on over there and let me know if I have left out any of your conspiracy theories. The post can be found here.

You can read my Episode 4 recap here.

(Photo Credits: AMC)

Related articles

 

About mrszoomby

When I'm not writing, I'm training for the zombie apocalypse.
This entry was posted in AMC, Conspiracy Theories, Recap, The Walking Dead, TWD Season 5 Recap, zombies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Walking Dead Season 5 Recap – Episode 3: Four Walls and a Roof

  1. The reveal about Father G locking everyone out was a major point in the comic. In fact they played a lot of the elements of The Hunters right, even down to Mr. Monologue getting some fingers blown off, though it would have been nice had it been Andrea doing the shooting. Yeah, he thought he was gonna talk his way out of that mess, and if you keep monolog–HACK! HACK!

    When Michonne found her katana I half expected her to say, “My Precious. Preeeciioooouse.”

    Well, we know the church bus with the DC Bounder flips over, so no ASZ for those losers yet. And I hope they start giving Rosita some lines, though she was pretty quiet at this point in the comic as well. When she did start to open up about her life, you discover it wasn’t very pleasant.

    I don’t think anything has happened to Carol–yet. I think they got Beth out, but Carol got waylaid, so now they have to go back for her. At which point rumors tell me we may see another character bit the big one. Hint: it’s someone who was already dead at this point in the comic, or who didn’t exist. That means one of seven characters–start making book NOW!

    If you listen closely in the next episode at the chruch, you’ll hear Gareth still fucking monloguing from his grave. Next episode seems to be Beth-centric.

    • mrszoomby says:

      No! No more monologuing – it’s just not RIGHT! 😦 Oh, and your suggestions are making me scared too 😦 Please don’t die Glenn….

      • I’m actually starting to believe that Glenn will make it, but I’ve seen some other theorizing that leads me to believe one of the major characters won’t make it more than a few more episodes.

      • mrszoomby says:

        I am happy to jump on that bandwagon! LOL Although, if people are saying Steven was involved – that would mean it’s Maggie, right? And I don’t want that either 😦 Can they ALL just survive? Except for the newer characters?

      • You must be new here. 😉

        I told someone the other day, I expect that sometime around the end of the Sixth Season you’re going to see the major characters–Rick and Daryl included–start dying off, because they’ll be moving into the seventh season, and these days seven seasons is a long time to be tied to a show unless you’re getting a huge pay day out of it, and AMC seems to not be paying out those huge paydays. Particularly if they bring Negan in for the sixth season, then you’re going to see blood start to flow. If they start introducing a lot of new characters in the sixth season–and if they’re going to the ASZ, they will–then you could see the start of the next group starting up. Then you’ll probably see a “10 Years Later” sign pop up, and there’s 24 year old Carl (different actor) leading everyone. Heard it here first, ’cause they gotta do it better than “True Blood.”

      • mrszoomby says:

        *covers ears* LALALA Do NOT want to be hearing this! LOL Especially since it makes so much damn sense 😉

      • mrszoomby says:

        OMGs! But could you imagine Carl 10 years on? And Judith – she’d be more bad arse than Carol!

      • mrszoomby says:

        Hahahaha! YESSSSSS 😀

      • In the latest issue of “The Walking Dead” Carl gets a letter from a girl where she’s like fangirling all over him, telling him she likes him and that she can’t believe she’s been talked to by CARL GRIMES!!!! (Seriously, it’s just like that. I’ll have to get a copy of it off the wiki.)

      • mrszoomby says:

        LOL! Gota love the fan girls 🙂

      • Here’s the letter. Enjoy.

        “Dear Carl,

        I really like being friends with you. I think you’re really special. I know everyone else in the community thinks so, too. You are Carl Grimes (!!!!!!!!!) and you’ve done so much and people look up to you, even some of the adults. I just feel blessed to be able to call you my friend.

        I need to apologize to you for what I did when everyone was at my house the other night. I was feeling really silly and everyone was being totally crazy and I got excited and lifted my shirt and did what I did. I think even though everyone was there, I was really doing that for you. I know you notice me, but I don’t think you really notice me the way I want you to. I could tell you thought I was acting weird. I can’t believe I made Carl Grimes (!!!!!!!) uncomfortable. But I’m sorry I did that. I don’t want you to think that’s something I do a lot. It’s not. I’m not like that. I really like you… more than just friends and I want you to like me, too. I think you are handsome.

        When I found out you were I was heartbroken. I don’t want that to be the last time you see me… or what you remember me by. I hope you will be coming back for the fair so that I can see you then. I’m going to miss you.

        Please write back.

        Love,
        Anna”

      • mrszoomby says:

        o.O Wow! There are no words to describe that sort of fandom :-/

      • Fandom in the ZA. Only Carl Grimes can pull that off. And he’s what? 12. Total stud.

  2. fuonlyknew says:

    The monologuing bout drove me nuts. I was so glad when Rick shut him up for good. But, whoa, that was way out of control. How much can you do before she can’t live with it when the world becomes more normal again.
    And I think Daryl is calling to Morgan in the woods. Why else would they show that little cameo in the other episode where he uncovers his face.

  3. marctom1 says:

    To be honest, I’d completely forgotten about Beth as seemingly the rest of the gang had.If she does reappear with Daryl, I think she’ll have her own gang with her that she met along the way. I think Carol is communing with nature at this point and not even Daryl could get to her.
    So pleased to see Gareth eliminated, how fucking irritating was he? And those fine young cannibals.
    The savagery was totally in line with what they have now become and let’s face it, they all knew that Judith was a target. I didn’t enjoy that part but neither was it unexpected.
    Rick has definitely become a type of latter day Moses figure, what with that Heston style beard and it works.
    I don’t even want to think about main gang members being terminated, so I’m ignoring those rumours.

    • mrszoomby says:

      Haha! Carol communing with nature – she could become part of the spin off show 😉
      Definitely agree about Gareth’s group – it was still hard to watch though :-/ And as for faves dying – I’m with you. Me and you, just standing here, burying our heads in the sand. LOL Seriously though, I will be a MESS if faves start dying now… 😥

      • marctom1 says:

        Yeah, questions would be asked on the floor of the house if Rick bought it.
        Having said that, AMC have a fine line to tread between not upsetting our delicate minds and creating a story.
        I’m convinced though, that they’re going to bring on the hybrid, hi-speed walker as I mentioned before.
        You know, the S-Type version Mark II.

      • mrszoomby says:

        It is a very fine line isn’t it? But, I think, without the killing off of the occasional character, overall, the show will lose it’s appeal. not that I want to pick who we have to lose though… :-/

  4. marctom1 says:

    Episode 4… that was weird.
    Won’t say any more, spoilers and all that.

  5. Pingback: The Walking Dead Season 5 Recap – Episode 4: Slabtown | Rachel Tsoumbakos

Leave a Reply

