BOOK REVIEW: Fractured by Erin Hayes

Fractured by Erin Hayes (Genre: Adult, Horror)

Fractured by Erin Hayes
Publication date: July 8th 2014
Genres: Adult, Horror

Blurb

Blinded by a mysterious seizure when she was three years old, Bash Martin has managed to carve out a normal life for herself as an adult. Yet she still yearns for a deeper connection with her twin sister Lily, who has always been jealous of the attention their parents bestowed upon Bash due to her disability.

A dream vacation seems like the perfect chance to heal their relationship, but Bash soon realizes there is something terribly wrong with Lily and that her sister is hiding a dark secret. And when a supernatural fire engulfs their hotel and corpses come back to life, the sisters are plunged into a nightmarish world that threatens not only their lives, but their very souls.

*My Book Review*

DISCLAIMER: This book/eBook being reviewed was provided free of charge in return for an honest review.

Okay, first off I’d like to say thanks to Erin Hayes for delivering a novel that took me back to all those super scary horror novels I grew up on! There is no overload of YA paranormal themes wrapped up in the horror genre here, although the plot does involve both the paranormal AND young adults.

Aside from that awesomeness, though, this book is a great read. The scary parts chill you and the gory parts are just gross – but in a totally awesome way.

However, besides all the horror genre love, there were moments where I just wanted the author to stop overusing the characters names and telling the reader what to think. Sometimes I found I was pulled out of the action going on as I read because the author was busy telling me how things were going down rather than showing the action and letting me decide for myself. There were also moments where the character’s point of view changed without it being completely clear.

BUT, in saying this, the ending of this book was… just… WOW! Loved it, loved it, LOVED IT! Definitely worth having to overlook the faults in order to get to the end.

Overall I am giving Fractured by Erin Hayes 3.5 out of 5 stars

Purchase

AMAZON | NOOK | iTUNES

About the Author

Author Erin HayesSci-fi junkie, video game nerd, and wannabe manga artist, Erin Hayes writes a lot of things. Sometimes she writes books, like the fantasy mystery Death is but a Dream and the sci-fi middle grade book Jacob Smith is Incredibly Average.

You can reach her at tiptoegirl87@gmail.com and she’ll be happy to chat. Especially if you want to debate Star Wars.

Author links:

WEBSITE | TWITTER | GOODREADS

XpressoBannerTours

About mrszoomby

When I'm not writing, I'm training for the zombie apocalypse.
This entry was posted in Blog Tour, Book Review, Horror, New Novel, New Release and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to BOOK REVIEW: Fractured by Erin Hayes

  1. Great review, Rachel! I love it when a book has such a great ending (who doesn’t? >.<) I'm glad you liked it!

  2. I enjoy reading a post that can make people think. Also, many thanks for allowing for me to comment!

  3. Greetings I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really found you by error, while I was looking on Digg for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot
    for a fantastic post and a all round enjoyable blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please
    do keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

