BLOG TOUR & INTERVIEW: Gape by Aiden Truss

Gape by Aiden Truss

I have an awesome new horror novel for you all to check out! How good is that cover by the way? All the details are below. Make sure you check out the interview with the author as well.

Title: Gape

Author: Aiden Truss

Genre: Horror

Release Date: August 15, 2013

Blurb

When Rose woke up in her favourite shop doorway, she was resigned to yet another day of hunger, struggle and abuse. This was life on the streets after all.

What she wasn’t prepared for, was a visit from a demon, an invitation back to his temporally insubstantial sanctuary, and forced to take sides in a battle involving most of the denizens of hell. Oh, and a boat trip down the river Thames.

After a disappointing start to the day, things were about to get a bit more interesting…

Purchase

Amazon:

US, UK, CANADA, GERMANY, ITALY, SPAIN, FRANCE, BRAZIL, JAPAN, INDIA

CreateSpace

Smashwords

Interview with Gape author, Aiden Truss:

While I haven’t had a chance to read this book yet, I was lucky enough to score an interview with the author, Aiden Truss:

What inspired you to start writing?

It was a mixture of my general love of reading – imparted by my mother – and my feeling of estrangement and of not fitting in with my peers. Even in the midst of company, I’ve always felt not so much a ‘fish out of water’ as a fish that’s somehow found itself on another planet devoid of water altogether. This meant lots of time on my own, trying to be creative. At first it was tortured poetry and short stories, but later I tried to write something longer. I’ve got loads of abandoned and abortive attempts at novels in drawers and folders around my house.

What’s scarier in horror novels: blood & gore or unseen & anticipation?

I don’t think there necessarily a dichotomy between the two. In the hands of the right author either can be unsettling and scary. For example, I think that a surgical scalpel has far more scope for horror than a pickaxe. But I also think that something moving around in the cellar can be such a tired trope that it no longer has any fear for the reader.

And, how about horror movies – what’s scarier: old classics like The Birds or new-school like Saw?

While I do like some of the more recent movies (I own all the Saw films on DVD), and really liked the recent Evil Dead remake, I’m really a big fan of the classic black and white Universal and RKO pictures. My youthful heroes were Boris KarloffBela Lugosi and Lon ChaneyThe Bride of Frankenstein and The Wolfman in particular held me spellbound when I first saw them on TV when I was around 12 or thirteen.

What gets you in the mood to write?

The slightest stimulus moves me to pick up a pen or reach for the keyboard. I’m not a huge people-person, but I’m an avid people-watcher. The smallest mannerisms or turns or overheard turns of phrase can get me in the mood to create something.

What’s something your readers may not know about you?

Despite my love of horror movies and heavy metal, I do also own the DVD of Moulin Rouge and a copy of the Bee Gees Greatest Hits.

How did the idea for Gape come about?

I actually started writing it during a period of unemployment back in 2001. I wasn’t living on the streets, but went through a similar dehumanizing experience to Rose at the beginning of the book. I had to visit the local employment centre every two weeks to ‘sign-on’ and prove that I had been looking for work in order to receive benefits. I started to daydream about what might happen if the mundane world of a suburban high street received a visit from something unearthly. Rose was partly me and partly a character from another abandoned story called ‘Mother’.

What’s your greatest fear?

Mortality. I don’t want to go without having left a mark on the world somehow. That, and being buried alive of course!

What’s your favourite book/author?

Ask me this on two different days and I’ll probably give you two different answers. I’d probably have to go with Bram Stoker’s Dracula though – for the illicit thrill that it gave me when I first secretly read it when younger. My parents were worried that I might be adversely affected by reading horror novels and I had to do so in secret. I’ve read it so many times since, and have collected many different editions over the years.

What do you have next on the agenda as far as novels go?

I have a draft of a complete novel sitting on my laptop that I’m not sure what to do with. It’s of a more sci-fi bent, but autobiographical too. I’ve also got lots of notes on where the Gape story continues.

And, finally, just for fun: If you could pick just one item to take with you to a deserted island – what would it be?

My iPod. I’ve got about a hundred gigabytes of music on it. I know that I should choose a favourite book, and that I’m making the assumption that there would be some sort of recharging facility (along with a never-ending supply of coconuts), on the island, but life without Iron Maiden wouldn’t be worth living!

Thanks so much Aiden Truss for taking the time to answer all these questions!

Make sure you grab a copy of Gape now!

About the Author

Author Aiden TrussAiden Truss is a forty one year-old geek who still thinks that he’s twenty-one. Despite never having grown up, he’s now been married for twenty four years and has two sons who have grown up against all odds to be strangely well adjusted.

Aiden spends his time flitting between high and low culture: he holds an MA in Cultural and Critical Studies and can often be seen stalking the galleries and museums of London, but also likes watching WWE, listening to heavy metal music, collecting comic books and playing classic video games.

Aiden lives in Kent, England and Gape is his first novel.

About mrszoomby

When I'm not writing, I'm training for the zombie apocalypse.
This entry was posted in Blog Tour, Horror, Interview, New Novel, New Release and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

