Dystopia Reading Challenge. Book 7: Apocalypto: Samael’s Fire by LK Rigel

Samael's Fire by L.K. Rigel (Genre: Dystopia)

Welcome to book 7 of my Dystopia Reading Challenge of 2013, hosted by Blog of Erised.

Blurb

The DOGs want to destroy the world. The gods want to make a new one. The trick is to survive both.

At the end of the 21st century, civilization is at the brink of environmental collapse. As Char Meadowlark prepares to board the Imperial Shuttle for some time off planet, the airport is attacked by the DOGs, an eco-terrorist group.

Jake Ardri, pilot of the private shuttle Space Junque, offers Char her only hope of survival. He takes her to the orbiting Imperial Space Station, the seat of world government.

As the conflict escalates and global war threatens humanity’s existence, ancient gods return to take control and impose a new world order. Char and Jake are caught up in a divine plan to save the world – but first they have to survive the apocalypse.

*My Book Review*

There were parts of Samael’s Fire by L.K. Riguel that I absolutely loved – and other bits that I really didn’t like at all. So, to make it easier, I’m going to break this review up into point form.

Also, this novel seems to have gone through a name change since I downloaded it in January. It is now recognised as Space Junque – A Dystopian Fantasy (Apocalypto 1). To be honest, this title makes more sense than the first one and while I was reading this book, I was wondering why it wasn’t originally called Space Junque, so thank you L.K. Riguel for changing the title!

Likes

  • The level of pseudoscience added was just perfect. Completely believable without using too much detail. I sometimes find the urge to drift off to sleep with large chunks of scientific explanation. This didn’t occur with Samael’s Fire, I’m so thankful for that.
  • The start of this book was completely captivating. I haven’t read true science-fiction for so long and I jumped in feet first, prepared to relish every word of this novel.
  • Along with the science-fiction, there is a fair amount of sex. Most of the time this works deliciously.
  • The author has managed to make this dystopian novel work without a noticeable apocalypse as the catalyst for the world within Samael’s Fire. I can’t believe how well this worked, but it did. Nice work Riguel!

Dislikes

  • This novel is VERY short, as a result, while I could sense myself falling in love with the characters, the story ended too abruptly for me to say I was really invested in them.
  • While, mostly, the large amounts of sex within this novel completely work with the storyline, there are times when it jumps right out in front of you like some sort of perverted flasher. You are neither prepared for it, nor do you find yourself believing the characters would do this.
  • While the first half of the book is science-fiction, something strange happens with the second half and it turns into a fantasy novel. The religious undertones felt out of place as a result. Also, there are a few moments the reader finds themselves confused as to what is now real in the novel as a result in the shift in genre.

Overall, I loved the first half of the book, but it lost me after it turned into a fantasy novel. As a result, I am giving Samael’s Fire (or Space Junque as it is now known) by L.K. Riguel 3 out of 5 stars.

Dystopia Reading Challenge 2013 Rebel Badge

About mrszoomby

When I'm not writing, I'm training for the zombie apocalypse.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Dystopia, Dystopia Reading Challenge 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dystopia Reading Challenge. Book 7: Apocalypto: Samael’s Fire by LK Rigel

  1. Pingback: Dystopia Reading Challenge Book 8: The Giver by Lois Lowry | Rachel Tsoumbakos

  2. Pingback: Rigel, L.K.: Space Junque / Hero’s Material / Samael’s Fire (Apocalypto I) (2010) | humanitysdarkerside

Leave a Reply

