Dystopia Reading Challenge. Book 3: Hollowland by Amanda Hocking

Hollowland by Amanda Hocking (Genre: dystopia)

Hollowland by Amanda Hocking: My Review

Well, what a disappointment this book was! For starters, it wasn’t even dystopia, but post-apocalyptic – even the author admits to this during the novel. Secondly, you would think that all zombie books are good? Nope.

Even from the onset of this novel, I was having my doubts. The main character, Remy, was just amazing – so amazing in fact that I didn’t believe it. When the zombies are outsmarting the government, this teenager is ESCAPING. And kicking butt to boot! I guess it’s a fine line between awesome and annoying?

And speaking of the government, it seems Hocking has hand-picked them from a kindergarten class. Several times you realise just how smart the zombies are compared to the authority. There were many moments when I was ready to throw my book at the wall because it was that simple to work out the twists and turns well before they had even arrived. Not to mention the fact that I kept shouting at the characters as they blundered their way through this book.

In between all the over explanations, I found myself wondering if young adults would actually like this book. Unfortunately, the answer is yes. There are plenty of laugh out loud lines in the book, as well as a romance between the main character and a famous rock star and a secondary character who is obsessed with clothes. There were also a few poignant moments when the author brings adult concepts to the audience with grace and good humour.

The bit that surprised me the most though was just how good Hocking is at sucking you in. I found by the end of the book that I was almost tempted to buy the second one, just to see what happened next. This is the reason why Amanda Hocking became an Indie superstar! And it’s for this reason that Hollowlands gets 3 stars out of 5 from me rather than 2 stars.

The next book on my reading list is: I Am Alive by Cameron Jace

I am Alive by Cameron Jace (Genre: dystopia)

About mrszoomby

When I'm not writing, I'm training for the zombie apocalypse.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Dystopia, Dystopia Reading Challenge 2013, zombies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Dystopia Reading Challenge. Book 3: Hollowland by Amanda Hocking

  1. Interesting. Thanks for the insights.

  2. faithmckay says:

    I liked this book more than you did (haha I never wanted to throw it at the wall…) but I also didn’t come into looking for a dystopian–I was looking for something light and funny, so I was into it. I think expectations when you come into a book really affect the experience.

    I didn’t pick up the sequel, though I was tempted like you were. I heard is was very different from the first one.

  3. I actually really liked Hollowland and did indeed buy the second book, which was pretty good. It’s better than that lame vampire series of hers, for sure.

  4. mrszoomby says:

    Trolls! Oh, cool 😀 Certainly will be reading this one soon then 🙂

  5. Pingback: Jacquel Rassenworth on the Zombie phenom « The Jacquel Rassenworth Blog

  6. Pingback: BLOG TOUR: I Am Alive by Cameron Jace BOOK REVIEW & GIVEAWAY | Rachel Tsoumbakos

Leave a Reply

