I’m Officially a Winner…..of NaNoWriMo 2012!

Yeah, baby, I'm a NaNoWriMo Winner!

Yeah, baby, I’m a NaNoWriMo Winner!

After 28 days (26 of them that ended well after midnight), I have succeeded in completing another novel! It still has the tentative title of How Indiana Lost Her Mind (But Found Herself) and went well over the 50,000 word minimum required to win National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). In fact, I nearly doubled the amount of words!

While the novel is not at all ready for beta readers, there is enough of an outline there that when I return to it in January, there will be plenty to work with. Honestly, the words written this month are absolutely rubbish! BUT, by writing so quickly, and moving through all the writers blocks by filling the pages with crap, I have effectively condensed possibly YEARS worth of heartache.

Did all that harried research in the middle of the month amount to anything? Well, yes, it did. Although, I now have a single story flowing through two completely different worlds. I’m not really sure how long it will take to fix that. And then there is the love triangle and the fact that the main character, Indiana, ran off – mid-fight – to shack up with the baddie. It’s AMAZING what happens during NaNoWriMo!

Now I can spend the next 10 months editing it and (hopefully) turning it into something that is actually worth reading!

And here’s the certificate to prove it:

NaNoWriMo Winner 2012 Certificate

(Photo Credit: NaNoWriMo.org)

About mrszoomby

When I'm not writing, I'm training for the zombie apocalypse.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Rachel Tsoumbakos, Vampires and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Officially a Winner…..of NaNoWriMo 2012!

  1. anabbloggin says:

    Congratulations! 😀

Leave a Reply

