August 2006

8th August

**I poisoned blackberries – I still feel bad for using chemicals – but geez it feels nice to know that soon they will be GONE!! ______________________________________________________________________

16th August

**This weekend I shopped. I went to a whole heap of markets and purchased the following: 2 kilos seed potatoes (pontiac) Sultana Grape Ginger Snake Bean Seeds I also received a choko plant from a friend. I spent Monday morning planting them (except the potatoes which need to be placed in a dark cupboard for a week before planting) all. I also planted some new tomato, corn, capsicum and flower seeds. ______________________________________________________________________

18th August

**Well the milk bottles round plants is working a treat! I have planted silverbeet, lettuce, celery and brocolli, all the ones that the snails usually LOVE! Out of approximately 40 seedings, I have lost 3 plants, and one of those was not from snails either!! Can you tell I’m, excited? Something else I have discovered with using milk bottles to protect seedlings – it seems to prevent frost damage because a microclimate is created. All the plants are growing quicker than I have ever seen down here in cold Melbourne too – most exciting! *EDIT* I am now having a HUGE problem with sparrows eating my lettuces – dunno how to prevent that – any ideas? ______________________________________________________________________ 23rd August

**So I discovered couch grass growing in one of our vegie gardens (I thought the chooks had erradicated it). Later on today I’m going to try this:

Natural Weed Killer

1 Cup Salt
8 drops Liquid Detergent
1 Gallon Vinegar or 3.8 litres (approx.)

*Mix salt and vinegar in a pan over low heat until salt dissolves. Remove from heat and add detergent. Once cool enough, put misture into a spray bottle and spray affected plants. Warning: This will kill any plant it comes in contact with.

About mrszoomby

When I'm not writing, I'm training for the zombie apocalypse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

